Skip to content

Growth and development

This is a small (7″x10″) charcoal and ink wash drawing I made one night after thinking about the juxtaposition of my current grown self and what I remember of my childhood self.  I had spent a lot of time thinking about all the layers I have to dig through and remove to remember something simpler and more innocent about my childhood.  I thought of how I, being an adult, might view the child I was, and how I as a child would view the adult I am now.  All this in an effort to better understand who I am and to come to terms and accept who I have become.  This continuing process takes many conversations and much vulnerability, but leads to liberation from many of the things of the past that seem to hold me down.  Here I’ve only scratched the surface.  There is much more to find out.

 

Image

Categories: Uncategorized
Posted by John Speier on August 26, 2012

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

