Skip to content

Getting back to work

It is good to be back home after being gone for almost a month.  I spent three weeks at a teacher workshop followed by a week in Montana.  Lots of fun but very exhausting.  One of the things I was most excited about doing upon my return was trying out the lathe I got about two months ago.  I’m in the middle of reading a book on wood turning and have basic tools.  I’ve never turned anything up to this point, but I’m ready to dive into this new dimension of wood working.  

The first piece I tackled was a basic cylinder, which is conveniently the shape of a rolling pin.  As I worked the Cherry with a couple of tools, I realized I have a long way to go as far as sharpening is concerned.  I’m accustomed to sharpening knives, but chisels and gouges are a different story.  I was pleased though with my initial attempt at turning.  The rolling pin is fairly straight and smooth and I didn’t hurt myself in the process.  Additionally I’ve wanted a Cherry rolling pin for some time.  I’m really excited and encouraged by this first project and hope to spend more time in the near future honing my skills on the lathe.

Image

Categories: Uncategorized
Posted by John Speier on August 6, 2012

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

