Skip to content

Oak, maple and walnut box

This is one of several boxes I made one Christmas some years ago. When I visit with my family I am able to see how my creations are doing.  I like to visit pieces I have sold or given as gifts, they are kind of like children to me.  This particular box sits atop a cherry and maple table I recently made.  The box has quarter sawn oak sides with a curly maple lid.  The pull on the lid is walnut, as are the reinforcing splines on the corners of the box.  The box is about ten inches long and is great for hiding the small loose items that would otherwise clutter the coffee tables.  

Image

Categories: Uncategorized
Posted by John Speier on March 22, 2012
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. 03/23/2012
    Paul White

    very neat.
    trying to visualize the splines. Are they like square scrabble pieces?
    I do like mitered joints. I usually can get the first 3 to fit pretty well….

    Reply
    • 03/24/2012

      The splines are usually about an 1/8th of an inch thick and of some contrasting wood. I use my surface planer to get this thickness. I have a spline jig that holds the mitered joint perpendicular to my table saw, which I use to cut them. I also use this jig on picture frames to reinforce those corners.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

