Skip to content

Oak Book shelves

This bookshelf project involved building five separate units, each of which I carried down a staircase into the basement of the client (by myself ugh…).  There ended up being about $600 worth of plywood in the project and several board feet of custom milled oak face frames.  I remember building these shelves under my open carport on East Deep Creek Road, during the summer of 2007, when we still lived in Bryson City.  I had never undertaken such a large project before, so I didn’t realize what I was getting into.  I used a Skil-saw and a home-made straight edge cutting guide to cut all of the sides and shelf sections.  Attempting to cut a 4×8 foot sheet of plywood my small circular saw would have proved disastrous.  I came to appreciate saw blades with 60 to 80 teeth and the clean cuts they produced.   The shelves were finished with a coat of Win-wax Golden Pecan stain and two coats of polyurethane.

I have fond memories of my second year of woodworking under that carport.  We lived about 100 feet from Deep Creek, so I worked with the sound of flowing water in the background when the saw wasn’t running.  Occasionally my neighbor “UFO Mike” would walk over and visit me, and would invariably share with me some new piece of UFO evidence he had discovered.  Mike would come up in the summers and stay in his camper by the creek.  He never seemed to have a shirt on and was bald except for a pony tail that descended the back of his head, like something out of Mad Max Beyond Thunder-dome.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
Posted by John Speier on March 15, 2012

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

